POL 470: International Law

Course Calendar

August 24, 2006 (Thursday)
Topics:
Introduction to the Course
Constitutional Scenarios
Read tonight:
Chapter One
Do tonight:
top ↑    
August 29, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Sources of International Law
Reflective Equilibrium
August 31, 2006 (Thursday)
Topics:
What is International Law?
Domestic, International, and Intermestic Law
Is International Law really law? If not, then what is it?
Bambi and International Relations
Read tonight:
top ↑    
September 4, 2006 (Monday)
Notes:
No Classes
September 5, 2006 (Tuesday)
Topics:
Read tonight:
Chapter Two
September 7, 2006 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
What is a state?
top ↑    
September 12, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Case Briefing discussion
What are the effects of recognition?
Do tonight:
September 14, 2006 (Thursday)
Topics:
Finish Chapter 2
top ↑    
September 19, 2006 (Tuesday)
Quiz/Exam:
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
IGO vs. NGO in International Law
Fixes for the United Nations
September 21, 2006 (Thursday)
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
More Fixes for the United Nations
European Union and Other Organizations
Look at Problem 3.E for Tuesday
top ↑    
September 26, 2006 (Tuesday)
Topics:
Discuss Problem 3.E in class
September 28, 2006 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
top ↑    
October 3, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
Practice Quiz
October 5, 2006 (Thursday)
Presentation:
Topics:
The International Criminal Court
The Belgium War Crimes Law
top ↑    
October 10, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
Corporations in International Law
October 12, 2006 (Thursday)
Notes:
No Classes
top ↑    
October 17, 2006 (Tuesday)
Quiz/Exam:
Chapter 4 Quiz
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
Chapter 5: Extraterritorial Jurisdiction
The Opening Problem (Chapter Assignment Questions)
October 19, 2006 (Thursday)
Presentation:
top ↑    
October 24, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Principles of Jurisdiction
October 26, 2006 (Thursday)
Presentation:
Topics:
Extradition and Rendition
top ↑    
October 31, 2006 (Tuesday)
Quiz/Exam:
Chapter 5 Quiz
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Start Chapter Six
Categories of Territory
Dominion over Terra Firma
November 2, 2006 (Thursday)
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
Discuss Cases
top ↑    
November 7, 2006 (Tuesday)
Major Assignment due:
November 9, 2006 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Chapter 6 Quiz
Major Assignment due:
top ↑    
November 14, 2006 (Tuesday)
Presentation:
November 16, 2006 (Thursday)
Major Assignment due:
Presentation:
Topics:
Quiz: Trans-Dniester
top ↑    
November 21, 2006 (Tuesday)
Quiz/Exam:
Chapter 7 Quiz
Presentation:
Topics:
How Treaties Work
Do tonight:
Receive exam (due December 14 at 8:00)
November 23, 2006 (Thursday)
Notes:
No Classes: Thanksgiving
top ↑    
November 28, 2006 (Tuesday)
Presentation:
Topics:
Finish Treaties and the Treaty System
November 30, 2006 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Chapter 8 Quiz
Presentation:
top ↑    
December 5, 2006 (Tuesday)
Topics:
Is 'International Law' law?
December 14, 2006 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Take-Home Exam Due: 8:00am
top ↑