POL 365: Introduction to International Relations

Course Calendar

August 23, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Introduction to the Course
Read tonight:
Introduction
Do tonight:
Write: Why did we go to war in Iraq? (Due next class)
August 25, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Why did we go to war in Iraq?
The three perspectives: Realist, Liberal, Identity
Read tonight:
Chapter 1
top ↑    
August 28, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Game Theory
The Prisoner's Dilemma
Read tonight:
August 30, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Reading through Perspective Glasses
Read tonight:
Chapter 2
September 1, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Perspectives on World History
top ↑    
September 4, 2006 (Monday)
Notes:
No Classes
September 6, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
The Irish and Iran
Read tonight:
Prepare for current events quiz
Chapter 3
September 8, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Current Events quiz
The Concert of Europe: Realist or Liberalist?
Read tonight:
Chapter 3
top ↑    
September 11, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
The Great War
Read tonight:
September 13, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
The League of Nations and the Concert of Europe
Read tonight:
September 15, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Atlantic Charter
World War II
Read tonight:
Chapter 4
top ↑    
September 18, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
World War II
Read tonight:
Do tonight:
September 20, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
The UN Charter and the Atlantic Charter
Perspectives until the Cold War
How do we fight the Cold War?
Why?
Read tonight:
Chapter 5
September 22, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Why no World War III?
Balance of Power
Polarity
Read tonight:
Chapter 5
top ↑    
September 25, 2006 (Monday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Late Cold War
The Tripolar world
Terrorism in Foreign Policy
Terrorism as Foreign Policy
Read tonight:
Chapter 6
September 27, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
After the Cold War
The three perspectives: Realist, Liberal, Identity
The Unipolar World
The Rise of Nationalism
Global Integration
Read tonight:
September 29, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
top ↑    
October 2, 2006 (Monday)
Notes:
Important Note
Topics:
Work on your midterm
There will be a workshop in the HSS Computer Lab (Room 202) to help you learn some tricks with MS Word that will make things work so much easier. If you use other programs, this may also help you. Attendance is completely optional---completely. Come if you would like. Do not come if you do not like. There are 21 computers available.
Read tonight:
Chapter 7
October 4, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Globalization in History: How the West was Rich
Read tonight:
Chapter 7
October 6, 2006 (Friday)
Quiz/Exam:
Topics:
The Rich West and the Poor Rest
Read tonight:
top ↑    
October 9, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Get Midterms back
Globalization Today
Last-Minute questions on Tuna Wars
Read tonight:
Chapter 9
Do tonight:
Begin: Tuna Wars Activity
October 11, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
How Globalization Works
Read tonight:
Chapter 9
October 13, 2006 (Friday)
Notes:
No Classes
top ↑    
October 16, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Does Globalization Work?
Read tonight:
Chapter 10
Do tonight:
October 18, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Trade and Investment
Read tonight:
Chapter 10
October 20, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Trade and Investment
Read tonight:
Chapter 11
top ↑    
October 23, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Development: Asian Tigers
Read tonight:
Chapter 11
October 25, 2006 (Wednesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Banana Republics: Wealth without Success
Read tonight:
Chapter 12
October 27, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Sub-Saharan Africa: Promise
Read tonight:
Chapter 12
Do tonight:
top ↑    
October 30, 2006 (Monday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
The Middle East and North Africa: Sand and Oil
November 1, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Evaluation Debriefing
Do tonight:
Midterm II (Due November 10)
November 3, 2006 (Friday)
Notes:
No Class**
Topics:
Work on your midterm
top ↑    
November 6, 2006 (Monday)
Notes:
No Class**
Topics:
Work on your midterm
Read tonight:
Chapter 13
November 8, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Causes of Conflict in the New World Order
Read tonight:
Chapter 13
November 10, 2006 (Friday)
Quiz/Exam:
Midterm II Due
Topics:
Conflict without the Cold War
Read tonight:
Chapter 14
top ↑    
November 13, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Global Environment
Read tonight:
Chapter 14
November 15, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Ecology and Economy
Read tonight:
Chapter 15
November 17, 2006 (Friday)
Topics:
Global Governance
The UN, ICJ, and ICC
Read tonight:
Chapter 15
top ↑    
November 20, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
Global Government and Governance
Read tonight:
Kant's Perpetual Peace
Conclusion to textbook
Do tonight:
Midterm III (Due December 4)
November 22, 2006 (Wednesday)
Topics:
The Democratic Peace Thesis and Kant
Read tonight:
Conclusion to textbook
November 27, 2006 (Monday)
Topics:
The Democratic Peace Thesis
November 29, 2006 (Wednesday)
Notes:
No Class**
Topics:
Work on your midterm
December 1, 2006 (Friday)
Notes:
No Class**
Topics:
Work on your midterm
top ↑    
December 4, 2006 (Monday)
Quiz/Exam:
Final Midterm Due
Topics:
Last Thoughts on Perspectives in International Relations