POL 102: Introduction to Political Science

Course Calendar

January 8, 2007 (Monday)
Notes:
Winter Break
January 10, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Introduction to the Course
Who is Marx?
Read tonight:
Do tonight:
January 12, 2007 (Friday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
The Spectre of Communism Haunts Europe
Globalization
Why is capitalism necessary for Communism?
Read tonight:
Do tonight:
January 15, 2007 (Monday)
Notes:
No Classes: MLK
January 17, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Class and Capital
What is class. And why does Marx use this division?
Start with ways of classifying those in the class.
Read tonight:
Do tonight:
January 19, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
What are the 10 major points of Communism?
How close is America to Communism?
Marx’s Typology
Do all of those types of Communisms matter?
Why is Marx against them?
Read tonight:
Do tonight:
January 22, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Final Thoughts on Marx’s Manifesto
Marx in America?
Do tonight:
January 24, 2007 (Wednesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Current Events Quiz (BBC; for this semester only focus on Africa).
Present your three states without help.
Get your adopted state.
Read tonight:
Chapters 1, 3 from Grigsby.
January 26, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
Political Science Nomenclature.
What is Power?
Read tonight:
January 29, 2007 (Monday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Article Discussion
What is science?
What is the Scientific Method?
What are the parts of science?
Can we have a science of human behavior if humans are unique?
Do tonight:
January 31, 2007 (Wednesday)
Major Assignment due:
African State Discussions
Topics:
Read tonight:
Chapter 4
February 2, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
Ethics in Political Science
Allegory of the Cave
Plato; Hobbes
What purpose does the state serve?
Read tonight:
February 5, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Aristotle; Jefferson; Tecumseh; Nietzsche
Should the state promote equality?
Read tonight:
February 7, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Machiavelli; Montesquieu; Madison
Should states maximize their power?
Mill; Taleban; Buchanan; Robertson
Should states force us to be ethical or moral?
Read tonight:
Chapter 5
Do tonight:
February 9, 2007 (Friday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Classical Liberalism; Modern Liberalism
Political Leanings
Read tonight:
February 12, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Conservatisms (Paleo, Neo, Libertarian, Traditional)
Read tonight:
Chapter 5 (again)
February 14, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Socialism; Marxism; Leninism; Stalinism; Maoism – What’s the difference?
Social Democrats – Who and what are they?
Read tonight:
February 16, 2007 (Friday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Today’s Liberalism
The State of Nature for Rawls
Read tonight:
Chapter 7
February 19, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Feminisms, Environmentalism, and Postmodernism (if there is time)
February 21, 2007 (Wednesday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Article Discussion
Review
Do tonight:
Study
February 23, 2007 (Friday)
Quiz/Exam:
Midterm Exam
Read tonight:
February 26, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
No Class (Ill)
February 28, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Get Midterms back
Issue Discussion: Introduction to Tuna Wars
Read tonight:
Chapter 8
Do tonight:
Start: Tuna Wars
March 2, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
What is Democracy?
Why five different aspects?
Read tonight:
Chapter 9
Do tonight:
How well does your African state reflect these five aspects?
March 5, 2007 (Monday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Structure Functionalism
Interest Groups, Political Parties, and Elections
Article Discussion
Read tonight:
March 7, 2007 (Wednesday)
Notes:
No Class
March 9, 2007 (Friday)
Notes:
No Class
March 12, 2007 (Monday)
Notes:
Spring Break
March 13, 2007 (Tuesday)
Notes:
Spring Break
March 14, 2007 (Wednesday)
Notes:
Spring Break
March 15, 2007 (Thursday)
Notes:
Spring Break
March 16, 2007 (Friday)
Notes:
Spring Break
March 19, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Power and the organization of the state.
Machiavelli (and Richelieu), Raison d’état, Montesquieu, and Madison
Parliamentary Systems
Read tonight:
March 21, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Globalization
Read tonight:
Chapter One of The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order, by Samuel P. Huntington. (D860 .H86 1996) This is located in the online reserves.
March 23, 2007 (Friday)
Notes:
No Class
March 26, 2007 (Monday)
Notes:
No Class
March 28, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Effects of Culture
Read tonight:
Chapter 11
March 30, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
Modes of Analysis: Realism, Liberalism, Idealism, Neo-Conservatism, and Wilsonianism
Read tonight:
April 2, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Article Discussion: The Lonely Superpower
Read tonight:
April 4, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Conflict, Security, Treaties, and the Prisoners' Dilemma
April 6, 2007 (Friday)
Notes:
Spring Recess
April 9, 2007 (Monday)
Major Assignment due:
Topics:
Discussion: Article
Read tonight:
April 11, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
War and the Just War Theory
April 13, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
War and the Just War Theory
Read tonight:
April 16, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Terrorism
April 18, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Terrorism
Read tonight:
April 20, 2007 (Friday)
Topics:
Discussion: Ecotopia I
Read tonight:
April 23, 2007 (Monday)
Topics:
Discussion: Ecotopia II
Read tonight:
April 25, 2007 (Wednesday)
Topics:
Discussion: Ecotopia III
April 27, 2007 (Friday)
Notes:
Last Day
Major Assignment due:
May 2, 2007 (Wednesday)
Quiz/Exam:
Final Exam (5:00–7:00) for 102-013
May 3, 2007 (Thursday)
Quiz/Exam:
Final Exam (12:30–2:30) for 102-001